I've been watching the T.V. show "Lost" since it started. Well, I watched a friends tapes and then I would watch half a season and then wait for dvds. I'm actually watching this season from the start. When I heard a game was coming I was very excited but thee was some conflicting repots as to if the story was cannon or not.
Well, I resisted the urge to run out and buy the game and thankfully my rental service shipped it to me on release day. I did look up some minor information before playing and I had prepared myself for what was to come.
Good or bad I must say this game is only for fans of the show and I would recommend that you are caught up to the Desmond episode in season 4 before playing this so it won't ruin too much for you. Not a fan of the show? Then this will most likely not be for you.
The game plays like a mix of Myst and some of the more recent adventure titles. The action is very limited and it's pretty much some minor auto aimed gunning action ear the end of the game.
There are six or so chapters that the game is split up into. They all have a basic structure to them. Talk to people, find a flashback, interact in the flash back, go somewhere and the chapter will end.
I know that sounds simple and it really is just that simple. The entire game can be completed in under 5 hours and that is with all 1000 achievement points but you may need a guide to pick up one of those achievements as it's rather random.
The game does do a few interesting things. We get to visit familiar Lost locations like the boat which plays a part in the current season of the show and we have most of the cast here as well which is voiced by the real actors for the most part (a few aren't).
The games problem though besides the length is the puzzles. We have engine puzzles that have you putting in little paths for an electrical charge and we have... Well that's about it. We also have the caves which are the biggest pain in the ass in a game in a long time. The caves are dark and if you stay in the dark too long the mist kills you. So, you need to keep a torch or lighter lit. Fine except there is water and bats which blow your fire out.
The island is also hard to navigate at times as it feels like a maze and you end up having to follow mysterious signs to another sign until you reach a new area. Thankfully the game does allow you to skip to locations once you have found them.
You can also find items on the island like coconuts, bottles of water and other stuff. These things are used to buy other items like torches and a gun and to be honest I can imagine you getting screwed over if you never buy the gun but I guess the game forces you to at one point or another.
There are a few little odd jobs to do here and there in the game but otherwise it might as well be a paint by the numbers. I did like the bomb shelter bit and having to input the numbers. I think that was the only chapter I enjoyed.
My most hated chapter had to be the poorly done stealth chapter which has you hiding in trees avoiding the mist. It became tedious and having to backtrack through it with an explosive was even worse.
The entire game feels this way though. A little good with a little bad. The puzzles feel too watered down and there isn't enough substance to the title to warrant a play through for anyone but a Lost fanatic.
Visually the game is nice though but we don't have a lot of locations and a few of the character models seem to be a bit off. The cut scenes share the same graphics as the in game visuals and frankly it wasn't all that grand to look at but it does recreate a few key scenes from the show.
The plot is fairly simple for those who haven't seen the show. A plane crashes on a mysterious island and the survivors are trying to live and find a way off the island. So we get to see the crash, the first time with The others but it's all told through a new character created just for the game. His back story isn't all that interesting but I did like that we could slightly interact with his past to put the pieces together quicker.
For what it's worth the game isn't horrible and it's one of the better T.V. based games to be released but that really isn't saying a whole lot. Fans should give it a rent but anyone else should just pass this one by unless they want a quick 1000 achievement points.
Story - 7/10
Graphics - 8/10
Sound - 7/10
Control - 8/10
Game Play - 6/10
Replay Value - 2/10
Final Score - 6/10
No comments:
Post a Comment